Visit Armenia Tours to Armenia 2018 | Sun Tour Armenia

Brief Information

National Symbols

The National Flag

The National Flag

The coast of arms

Geographical Information

Armenia, or as locals call it – Hayastan, is a relatively small, landlocked country in Transcaucasia, between Black and Caspian Seas, on the southeastern edge of Europe and at the gateway to Middle East and Asia. Armenia is usually compared to the State of Maryland, which is slightly larger. Its neighboring countries are Georgia and Azerbaijan on the North, and Turkey and Iran on the South. The Republic of Armenia occupies a territory of 29 800 square km, lying at an average altitude of 1800 meters above sea level. About half of Armenia’s territory is at least 2,000 m above sea level, and only 3% of the country lies below 650 m. The lowest points are in the valleys of the Araks and Debet Rivers in the far north, while the highest is Mount Aragats, an extinct composite volcano at the height of 4,090 m. Armenia has only one lake – Sevan, the largest in the Caucasus region, at the altitude of 1,900  more than 100 small mountain lakes.  The capital is Yerevan. According to the general census of 2003 the population of Armenia is 3,2 million, 1,1 million of which lives in Yerevan


The politics of Armenia takes place in a framework of a semi-presidential representative democratic republic, whereby The President is the head of state and The Prime Minister is the head of government, and of a multi-party system. Executive power is exercised by the RA Government. Legislative power is vested in both the government and parliament.


Armenia has a dry tropical climate. Clear sunny days are mostly dominant in a year. The summers are hot here, the temperature fluctuates between +22C to +36C. The winters are mainly cold, the average temperature is between -15C to -1C. The mountain peaks are covered with eternal snow, while their slopes are lined by alpine meadows. The best time to visit Armenia is spring or autumn. Daily weather forecasts can be found at the following web-page:


The Armenian banking system consists of 21 commercial banks, the activity of which is controlled by the Central Bank of the Republic of Armenia. The banks in Yerevan are open from 10 am to 4 pm on week-days and from 10 am to 1 pm on Saturdays, without lunch breaks. The ATMs can be found on all the main streets of Yerevan.


Armenia has two major airports. Zvartnots International Airport is the main airport in the country conveniently located 12 km southwest of the country’s capital’s downtown. There are frequent flights from across the CIS (Commonwealth of Independent States) and Europe, as well as transit flight to any international airport of the globe, while the second one is situated in Gyumri.


The official language is Armenian, a separate branch of the Indo-European language family. The Armenian letters are radically different from the letters of other languages. Generally the state buildings and public places are also marked with Latin-letter signboards. Besides Armenian, Russian is also widely used, and many can communicate in English, too.


The state religion in Armenia is Christianity which was adopted in 301 AD. The religion is deeply and strongly rooted here.
The majority of the Armenians living in Armenia belong to the Armenian Apostolic Orthodox church. The head of the church is the Catholicos of All Armenians, who resides in Holy Echmiadzin.

Telephone Calls

The country code is 374, Yerevan city code is 10.
Outgoing international calls can be made by dialing 00 followed by the country code, the city code and the number.

There are 3 mobile operators – “Beeline”, “VivaCell”, “Ucom”, functioning over almost the entire territory of Armenia, and their cards can be purchased at Zvartnots International Airport, at the offices of these operators or at the big stores, having the passport copy. The cards provide 3G connection and high speed Internet. For making calls by the cell phone to the fixed-line number in Yerevan it is necessary to dial 010 followed by the number.

Time Zone

Armenia Standard Time is 4 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT+4). Starting from 2012 Armenia has abolished daylight saving time.

Post Offices

The post offices in Armenia every day from 9 am to 7 pm. Sunday is a day-off. One of the central post offices is located at the Republic Square, opposite the Government building work

Find your tour